• SchoolMessengerbanner
  • shla tspra
  • EIE banners 2015 870X87
  • WRAAugust2017banner
  • Print Center Banner2017Print Shop Banner AdPrint Shop Banner Ad
  • TSPRA New Branding Sample 7 15 16

2012 Chapter Awards

For a complete list of Chapter Award recipients click here.

2012 Professional Achievement Award


Left to right: Professional Award sponsor Mark Franke, Relatrix; Cindy Randle, Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD; and 2011-12 President Tim Carroll, Allen ISD

The recipient of TSPRA's Professional Achievement Award, sponsored by Relatrix, is Cindy Randle. A devoted public relations professional, Cindy has contributed more than 36 years to public education. Cindy began her  career in 1975 as a journalism teacher in Austin. But it was in Garland ISD where she took a position outside the classroom and moved into the world of school public relations.

As long-standing TSPRA professional member, Cindy has served as president, past president, North Central vice president, Education Foundation Division chair, and has been named Most Valuable TSPRA Member. She has also served and or chaired on several committees including Texas Public Schools Week and Chapter Awards. Added to this long list of service are more than 55 TSPRA Star Awards and a number of NSPRA accolades.

Cindy recently retired from Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD, where she has served as the district's executive director for public information.

2012 Most Valuable Member AwardLARRY GODDARD


Left to right: Nate Brogan, SchoolMessenger, sponsor of the Most Valuable
Member award; Larry Goddard, Tyler ISD Foundation; and 2011-12
TSPRA PresidentTim Carroll, Allen ISD

  TSPRA's Most Valuable Member award goes to Larry Goddard, executive director of the Tyler ISD Foundation. Since joining TSPRA in 2006, Larry has been instrumental in moving the association's Education Foundation Division forward. He served on TSPRA's Executive Committe as Education Foundation Division chair and was named as TSPRA’s Key Communicator in 2010. He received that honor for his numerous workshops on the regional, state, and national levels focusing on fundraising issues, public relations, marketing and leadership issues.

A visit to the TSPRA Document Vault will display Larry’s willingness to share his work and knowledge through his numerous uploads with other members of the TSPRA family. Larry also cultivated the idea of selling video templates for education foundation public service announcements and he insisted that part of all the proceeds be assigned to TSPRA. His Star Awards for event planning, publications, writing and fund raising campaigns are impressive including the 2009 TSPRA Crystal Award for Foundation Special Event, the 2010 and 2011 TSPRA Crystal Award for Best Foundation Annual Campaign, and the 2011 TSPRA Crystal Award for Staff/Student Recognition. 

Larry has demonstrated his outstanding leadership skills as: president-elect of the Texas Association of Partners in Education; the chair of TSPRA’s Education Foundation division; a multiple workshop presenter for NSPRA, TSPRA and other organizations; an authorized trainer for certification for the National School Foundation Association; a national advisory board director for the American School Foundation Alliance; and a Board Member of the OneStar  Foundation. His awards for event planning, publications, writing and fund raising campaigns are impressive:  How about the… the 2009 TSPRA Crystal Award for Best Event  and the 2010 TSPRA Crystal Award for Best Campaign. 

He believes that all people on the team or in the organization are equally important. His philosophy is based on the principle that the whole is greater than the sum of the individuals. Maybe the person truly qualified to be named “Most Valuable Player” is the person who knows that no person has value in isolation, and that only through collaboration with others can our strengths be shared and illuminated in such a way that ONE may represent  ALL.

2012 Rookie Of The Year: Emily Grobe, Hutto ISD 


Left to right: Cathy Brandewie, O'Connell Robertson, sponsor of the Rookie Award; Ed Ramos, Hutto ISD; Dr. Douglas Killian, superintendent, Hutto ISD; and 2011-12 TSPRA President Tim Carroll, Allen ISD

The Rookie of the Year Award, sponsored by O'Connell Robertson, goes to Emily Grobe, public information officer for Hutto ISD. During Emily's first week on the job she was on camera explaining a five jurisdiction police chase that ended with the shooting of the suspect in the district's athletic complex parking lot. This event happened while a soccer game, a softball game, and a baseball game were all going on at the same time. In her Rookie Year with Hutto, she also had to plan public hearings to announce a $4.5 million budget cut and explain the closure of one elementary campus, as well as the move of 5th grade students to a middle school because of the state budget cuts. Add a Tax Rate Election and a State lawsuit and you have quite a year!Even with all that going on, Emily has also volunteered to serve on TSPRA committees and takes part in regional meetings, TSPRA Ammerman training and the annual conference. She is a confident and capable leader, a true rising star in TSPRA.


2012 Bright Idea Award: Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD


Left to right: Bright Idea Award sponsor Jeff Jennings, SchoolReach; Cindy Randle and Angela Shelley, both of Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD; and Beth Trimble, chair of TSPRA's awards committee

The Strategic Communications Services team of Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD developed a special section "why cfb" on the district's website to meet the needs of Realtors and families relocating into the area. The section pulls various information from the district's massive website into one place where prospective families may find out about C-FB ISD as they shop for a school district.

2012 Media Award Winner:  Joe Smith, TexasISD.com


Left to right: Macia Coker, Wylie ISD; Joe Smith, recipient of the TSPRA Media Award; and 2011-12 TSPRA President Tim Carroll, Allen ISD

Joe F. Smith, executive director, Administrative Consulting, L.L.C., received the 2012 Media Award. For more than a decade Smith has published TexasISD.com. Widely known as “The Homepage for Texas School Officials,” TexasISD.com provides daily, up-to-date information and news articles related to public education in Texas.

Smith said he was, “elated, humbled and pleased to be awarded the 2012 Media Award.” He continued, “TSPRA serves a vital role in supporting school public relations which is needed now more than ever as the burden to educate, not only the students, but the citizens of each district, on complex education issues looming before our schools in the next few years.”

Smith has been a classroom teacher, principal, superintendent and consultant. He has served on several boards involved on all aspects of education. The Equity Center, the Texas House of Representatives and TSTA have all recognized and honored Smith for his outstanding contributions. His TexasISD.com has been a four time recipient of the TSTA/NEA's School Bell Award for Outstanding Education Website.It is his personal desire to make a difference in children's lives by improving funding of our Texas public schools so that our state is able to offer a world class education to all students.