Updating Cart...

Issue 115 February 27, 2013 Newsletter

on . Hits: 381

Congratulations to our Chapter Award Winners

One of the highlights of the TSPRA Annual Conference is the presentation of our Chapter Awards to deserving members, school districts and media partners for their contributions to the field of school public relations over the course of the last year. Those honored this year in Corpus Christi include: 

Professional Achievement

Debbie Ratcliffe, Texas Education Agency
Professional Achievement Award
Sponsored by Relatrix

Bright Idea

Iris Campbell, San Marcos ISD 
Bright Idea Award
Sponsored by SchoolReach


Britta Gamino, Pasadena ISD
Rookie of the Year Award
Sponsored by O'Connell Robertson


Karen Adler, formerly Northside ISD
Most Valuable Member Award
Sponsored by SchoolMessenger

The recipient of the 2013 Media Award, Evan Smith, Editor in Chief and CEO of the Texas Tribune, was announced in January. Here's a link to the video he and the Tribune made accepting the award.

Congratulations to all our award winners.

Crystal and Platinum Star Awards honor outstanding TSPRA work

StarAward2012LogoCongratulations to the winners of the 2012 Star Awards Crystal Commendations and Platinum Awards. 

Platinum Award

Waco ISD for "Waco ISD Enroll Online Registration." Mary Senter, Amber George, Skip Filgo and Dale Caffey

Crystal Commendations

Category 46 - Bond Elections: Wylie ISD for "Restoring Trust and Unifying a Community - Wylie ISD 2012 Bond Election." Ian Halperin, Marcia Coker, Doug Bellamy and Diane Neel.

Category 47 - Parent Involvement/Volunteer Program: Katy ISD Partners in Education for "'Call Us Maybe' Volunteer Recruitment Video." Janet Theis

Category 48 - School/Community Partnership: Lewisville ISD for "The Community Conversation." Karen Permetti, Tristen Wilson, Nicholas Rooney, Lee Burns, Greg Davis, Lee Ann Bandy, Sarah Marcus and Laura Madison.

Category 49 - Staff/Student Recognition: Lamar CISD for "Lamar CISD Employee Banquet: Safari Adventure." Mike Rockwood and Phillip Sulak

Category 50 - District/Association Special Event/Celebration: Northside ISD for "Retirement of John Folks." Northside ISD Communications Department

Stay tuned to upcoming newsletters for more information on the projects from 2012 that took home the biggest Star Awards prizes.

Celebrate Texas Public Schools with a new website and video contest

RBFCU Logo 2012

Help spread the word about the great work being done in public schools across Texas. Visit our new website, www.celebratetps.org, to find more information about the Celebrate Texas Public Schools campaign and the new CTPS video contest, sponsored by Randolph Brooks Federal Credit Union. Each district in Texas will have the chance to enter a video in each of the contest's five categories, Elementary, Middle, High School, Spanish and Education Foundation. 

For more information, visit the website, follow CTPS on Twitter, like CTPS on Facebook, and subscribe to the CTPS YouTube channel

Condolences to TSPRA past president

Julie Jerome

JeromeTSPRA extends our condolences to Julie Jerome, Comal ISD Communications Coordinator and TSPRA's 2009-2010 President, on the death of her husband, Tommy Hultgren February 14. Memorial services were held last Saturday, February 23 in New Braunfels. In lieu of flowers, a memorial fund has been set up in Tommy's name at Broadway Bank to help with college expenses for his two sons, Ethan and Ansen.  

Thanks to the Conference Committee for their work in Corpus Christi

We are extremely grateful to the members of our 2012-2013 Conference Committee for volunteering their time and efforts to prepare for Corpus Christi. The conference wouldn't be possible without their work before, during and after the fact. 
Chair - Craig Eichhorn, APR, Alief ISD
Preconference Day Chair - Kristin Zastoupil, Corsicana EF
Day One Chair - Kimberley Snead, Corpus Christi ISD
Day Two Chair - Tammy Castleberry, Eagle Mountain-Saginaw ISD
Day Three Chair - Johnston Farrow, Galveston ISD
EF Chair - Dawn Marie Baletka, Navasota ISD; Sheri Brown, Deer Park ISD
Star Awards Banquet Decorations - Megan Overman, Grapevine-Colleyville ISD
Roundtables - Mike Rockwood, Lamar CISD
Rookie Boot Camp - Helen Williams, Highland Park ISD
APR Accreditation - Judi Saxton, APR, Mt. Pleasant ISD
Installation Luncheon - Marcia Coker, Wylie ISD
Hospitality - Phillip Sulak, Lamar CISD
Vendor Relations - Teresa Benden, College Station EF
Sponsorships - Linsae Snider
Publications - Adam Holland, Longview ISD
Audio-Visuals - Lyndall Gathright, Corpus Christi ISD 
Photography - Amanda Ponton-Arnold and Joe Perez, HCDE
EMP Chair - Charles Ellis, Fort Worth ISD; Emily Conklin, Northwest ISD; Steve Valdez, Weslaco ISD
Conference Program - Gregory DuValle, ESC-20
Business Meeting - Linsae Snider, Craig Eichhorn and Patti Pawlik-Perales, Alamo Heights ISD
Registration - Janet Crock, Christi Willman, Shirley Brothers
Sign-Up Dinners - Lynn Kaylor, Flour Bluff ISD
Conference Evaluations - Katie Chenoweth, ESC-7

Click here to unsubscribe from this newsletter

406 East 11th Street

Austin, TX 78701
Phone: 512.474.9107